Our Past Defines Us

Regrets – we all have them.  Some may say they have none, but I’d venture to guess they weren’t being completely truthful with themselves.  It’s not wrong to have regrets.  It’s how we deal with those regrets.  Everything that has happened to us is what defines who we are now.  Our reaction to circumstances is a choice.  If we had a bad childhood, we can choose to make our children’s lives miserable and blame our childhood on our bad choices; Or, we can choose to pull ourselves up by our bootstraps and not let that bad childhood turn into a bad adulthood.  I know many people who had bad childhoods or even bad young adulthoods;  they are productive members of society today and refuse to let those circumstances hold them back.  Those circumstances define who they are but not how they live.  I have regrets.  I’ve made bad decisions – some not such a big deal, like “I sure wish I hadn’t worn that shirt today” all the way to big ones, like “maybe I shouldn’t have quit that particular job”.  However, when I start living in the past and dwelling on those regrets, I remind myself that those decisions, good and bad, are what got me to this place in the first place.  I wouldn’t be who I am today without those choices. 
Even though I have hit a rough patch the last year, I still count my blessings every day.  I have a wonderful family, a roof over my head, and food on the table.  I thank God every day for those three things.  I know that He will provide for us.  

So next time you are dwelling on your past and on your regrets, take a moment and look at where you truly are in your life.  Remind yourself that you can choose to let that past define for the good or the bad.  And take a moment to look around and see what God has provided for you.  Even if you don’t really feel blessed, I bet if you look around, you can find at least one thing a day to say “thank you, God.” 

As the saying goes “I may not be where I want or thought I’d be at this time in my life, but thank God I am not where I used to be!” 

“I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord”  Jeremiah 29:12

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

