Judgement of Others

Disclaimer: In writing this entry, I struggled to find the right words without sounding judgemental myself.  That is not my intent.  Because of a recent conversation, I needed to share these thoughts.  

We all have our perceptions and preconceived notions about what someone should be like, look like, act like. We use these perceptions to form opinions of a situation or a person or a group of people. As humans, we tend to judge people based on those perceptions of what we think they are like or what we think happened.

Recently, a friend told me that there are people that will not accept her because of what they think happened. This broke my heart. These people are judging my friend based on nothing more than speculation when they shouldn’t be judging her at all.

I’ve seen this time and again in my life. It brings to mind something another friend said to me years ago “but this is church, it’s not supposed to happen like this”. He is absolutely correct. Unfortunately, that is where it happens often. And that is what turns so many people away from Jesus and the church. As Christians, this is the opposite of what we are supposed to do. We don’t have to know someone’s story or circumstances to accept them and love them.

Unfortunately, this list of people I know who have been judged or feel like they have been could go on for a while, so I’ll leave it at those two examples.

I don’t mean to sound as though I’ve never judged someone when I shouldn’t have. I’m human; it is in our human nature. However, we must strive to not do that. We must do better because if we don’t, we will end up with a lot of unhappiness and will end up with more division among us than we have now.

As a Christians and a church family, God calls us to love one another; no where in my Bible does it say “God calls us to judge one another”.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” – 1 Corinthians‬ ‭13‬:‭13‬ NIV

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

