Music 🎶 in My Life

NKOTB Tulsa Concert
Joey McIntyre singing “I Remember When”

I woke up this morning singing the song “Happy” by Pharrell. You know the one, it’s really catchy and sticks with you. I often wonder if I dream in musicals because there are many mornings I wake up singing some random song, sometimes it’s a song I haven’t heard in years. This got me to thinking about how music has been such a large part of my life throughout the years.  

When I was younger, one of the houses we lived in had a large fireplace on one end of the wall in our den that had a hearth that ran the length of the room. My friends or my sister and I would use this as our stage and have concerts. We were rockstars. On the weekends, my friends and I would stay up watching Friday Night Videos (we didn’t have Mtv). I took piano lessons, then was in band which morphed into girls choir to mixed choir to show choir. We did a musical, “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying”. We wanted to do “Grease” but our teacher thought it was too risqué.  

In high school, my friends and I would gather together and watch Mtv and bond over our mutual love of NKOTB. We would even try to learn the dance moves to their various songs. And even now, in adulthood, I’ve made some really great friends through that mutual love for them. (Don’t judge me). Music has gotten me through life, all of it, the good, the bad, and the ugly. When I’m working, it gets me through the day. It has helped me grieve the death of my dad, as well as the death of my grandparents earlier this year. Most importantly, it helps me to worship God. Without music, my life would be quiet.  

So here’s hoping that I continue to dream in musicals (and hopefully someday remember one of those dreams).

“speaking to one another with psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit. Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord” – Ephesians‬ ‭5‬:‭19‬ NIV

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

