🏈 I Love Football 🏈 


I love football…good old fashioned smash-mouth, knock them out of their boots football. I’ve spent countless hours watching football. Having an October birthday, I’ve spent more birthdays than not involved with football in some way, shape, or form. I was a coach’s daughter the first 6 years of my life before my dad went to law school (although, the coach in him never went away). I have uncles and cousins who coached or are still coaching. I love football. 

 Now I have a son that plays. With all my years of watching football, I was not fully prepared to watch my son play. Being a football mom is not for the faint of heart. I am not a mom that over reacts or worries too much. In fact, I’m the mom that when my kid goes down is yelling “get up! Shake it off! You’re ok!”; don’t get me wrong, if I thought he was truly hurt, I’d be concerned. When I hear the crash of the helmets, I sometimes cringe. But at the same time, I’m glad those helmets crash together because I know they are protecting the kids. When I see injuries, whether in person or online, I feel the parents’ concern and heartache. I know that at any given moment, that could be my child.  I know football is a rough sport.  I knew this before my son played.  I’ve always said a prayer for the players; but I now say an extra prayer.  

On the other side is that pride when I see my son in his football uniform running through the Bulldog on Friday nights. The pride when he is the one that puts the big hit on someone and knocks them out of their boots or causes that fumble. The first time I saw him in his varsity uniform, I teared up…teared up with pride but also with the thought that my boy is in high school.  

So here’s to my fellow football moms out there!  As moms we have a unique perspective on game night.  We’re in this together!   I know none of us would trade any of this for the world!   There’s nothing like this Friday night lights!  

“Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil” -Ephesians‬ ‭6‬:‭10-11 NKJV

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

