Who am I?

In a job interview a few weeks ago, one of the interviewers asked “Who is Kerry?” This was at the end of a lengthy interview which had been with several different people. While I have been asked similar questions in the past, this one caught me a little off guard. It seems in this day and age, it is no longer enough that you have the proper skills and personality for the position and group, you also have to know who you are and where you want to be in five years.
By asking me “Who is Kerry?”, I had to think about who I really am. That’s a tough question and somewhat loaded. I am many things – a mom, a wife, a daughter, a woman, and so much more. I enjoy just being at home, but at the same time, I enjoy watching my son play his sports or compete in academic competitions. I enjoy having girls’ night or date night with my husband. Work to me is really just a job to pay the bills. Enjoying the people I work with is more important than enjoying what I do. I don’t have aspirations to be the Vice President or CEO of the company. I just want to do my job and spend time with my family.
So to answer the question “Who is Kerry?”, it’s simple, I am all the things listed above and most importantly, I am a child of God.

“So you are no longer a slave, but God’s child; and since you are his child, God has made you also an heir.” Galatians‬ ‭4:7‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

