Shhh…What’s That Noise


Sometimes I feel like there’s too much noise in my life. So, I turn the television off and listen to the silence. Of course, this doesn’t always hush the voices in my head, but sometimes, they have good things to say. 😄 But I still listen to the silence. I turn Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, or whatever the social media du jour is and just listen. I listen to the train go by or the rain and thunder. I listen to the kids playing at the school or the neighborhood geese taking their daily stroll. It’s in these moments that I can hear God. It may not be Him leading me in any direction or even speaking to me. But it’s in all the things around me that I can hear God and know that He is real. Don’t get me wrong, I know that God is real without listening to the silence; but listening to the silence around me is necessary to hear Him.
Silence is a good thing (unless you have small children, then it probably isn’t). Not only do I need the silence to hear God around me, I need it to recharge and rest. My brain goes seems to go all the time, especially when I am trying to sleep. So when I turn everything off, I try to actively quiet my brain so I can listen to the silence around me. If I never listen to it, then I will never hear what is around me. I will become overwhelmed and stressed. So today, I am listening to the silence. We all need to take the time to shut everything off and listen to what is around us.
Silence is a gift, and I will enjoy it when I can.

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm‬ ‭46:10‬ ‭NIV‬‬

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

