Being Gideon in a Hollywood World


Last weekend at church, Pastor Ethan taught about Gideon and how God used him. If you don’t know, Gideon was a man in the Old Testament that, with the help of God, led an army of 300 men to defeat a group of 130,000 Midianite men who had been invading and pillaging Israel for seven years. Pastor Ethan tells the story much better than I ever could, which you can listen to it here
“If You’re Not Ready, You’re Perfect, Part 2”

As usual, this lesson made me think, which is kind of the point. The Bible is full of examples of God using the people who society would deem “the least likely to succeed”. Moses had a stutter when he was called to lead the Israelites out of Egypt. David was a child when he slayed Goliath. Paul was a tax collector. These are just a few that come to mind. But God used them. He is still using them to tell the story and lead us. Next time you are in a hotel, look in the drawer for a Bible. In that Bible, look at the inside and see how it got there. Gideon’s army is still working all these years later.

There are examples in our own lives as well. My mom is not and never has been a public speaker. Yet, years ago, after she had been involved in Emmaus for several years, God placed her on a team in a position where she had to give one of the talks. Then she became a lay director. And since then, she has been on other teams and given other talks. If you had asked her twenty or so years ago if she thought she’d be sharing her story in front of a group of people, she probably would have thought you were crazy. But through this, she has been able to touch several lives. God has used her to bring others closer to Him and to let them know that they are not alone in whatever they have experienced or are experiencing in their lives.

When I set out to start blogging, my intention was not to necessarily have life lessons or to share God’s word regularly, at least not like this. It’s called “Random Ramblings by Kerry” for a reason. It was basically a way for me to quiet the voices in my head without posting constantly on Facebook or rattling to my husband. And while it may change focus occasionally or completely in the future, it looks as though God has other plans for this blog for now. I’m ok with that; however, I am probably perceived as one of least likely people to teach about God. I am not a Bible scholar, not even close. In fact, I may know several stories from the Bible, but I cannot tell you where many of them are. I do not have a lot of scriptures memorized, and again, many of the ones I do, I am not 100% sure in what book and chapter they are. Thank goodness for my Bible app that has the search feature 😀. However, like Gideon and Moses and David, and people like my mom, God seems to be using me to help spread the Good news! I may not feel qualified, but that is the point.

If you think about it, it makes sense that God would use those that seem to be the least likely. Think about all the times that someone who is a natural born leader or a dynamic speaker talks and no one listens. But then along comes someone who rarely speaks or seems shy but when he/she does speak, he/she has the perfect answer and people know to listen to him/her. So why wouldn’t God use the least likely?

Just like God gave Gideon the courage and the tools to defeat the enemy, God will give us the tools to do what He wants/needs us to do. We may have to, well most likely have to, step out of our comfort zone, our safe space. We may not realize that is to where or to what God is leading us until we’re already there or have already been there. It doesn’t have to be a booming voice telling us what to do. It doesn’t even have to be something as big as defeating 130,000 men or sharing your story. It could be as simple as giving someone a hug or just listening to them. It could be writing a simple note or a simple blog or other social media post. You never really know until you listen and watch for what God is telling you. And just like He was with Gideon and my mom, God is always there and will never send you out alone.

“The least of you will become a thousand, the smallest a mighty nation. I am the Lord; in its time I will do this swiftly.” Isaiah‬ ‭60:22‬ ‭

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

