“Take Me Home, Country Roads”

A few posts ago, I wrote about how music has been a big part of my life. Tonight, as I was playing “SongPop” on my phone, I was reminded once again just how true that is. One song can bring back a flood of memories. It transports me right back to that moment in time when I first heard the song. Most of the time, that moment is a good memory; occasionally, it isn’t. Fortunately, tonight, it is a good one.

My fourth grade teacher in Rush Springs was Miss Karee Engle. I loved her. We shared not only the same first name (spelled differently of course) but we also shared a birthday. Now, since I am a nerd, I thought that was the coolest thing in the world. She would bring her guitar to class and teach us songs. She loved John Denver. So, she taught us “Grandma’s Feather Bed” and “Take Me Home, Country Roads” among others. So tonight, when “Take Me Home, Country Roads” was one of the songs on my game, I was instantly transported back 30 years (yes, I know I am dating myself) to those careless elementary mornings when we would sing in class.

There are so many other songs that take me back in time. Songs like “Leader of the Pack”, “Silhouettes on the Shade”, or “Earth Angel” that take me back to junior high choir when we would do our 50s and 60s concerts. “Raining Men” or “Every Heartbeat” takes me back to Pizzazz show choir (jazz hands, everyone!). When listening to the new “Totally 80s” station in the car, I’ll hear “I’ll Be Loving You” or “Love Shack” or a song like that that takes me back to high school. “Saved the Best for Last” takes me back to senior prom or “The Dance” will take me to Elk City’s prom when I went with my neighbor’s brother junior year. Then I’ll hear “Hero” by Marc Anthony and it takes me back to watching VH1 while feeding my son when he was a baby in the middle of the night.

I could go on and on but I’ll stop now. This post has no real point except to show once again just how much music impacts my life. Without it, I might not remember near the things that I do. 😄

“Begin the music, strike the timbrel, play the melodious harp and lyre” – Psalm‬ ‭81:2

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

