Where Do I Fit In


I’m not a big movie watcher; my husband can attest to that. Where he can watch movies over and over again, there are only a handful that I can watch repeatedly. And most of those are from the 1980s. I’ve seen “Dirty Dancing” and “Top Gun” probably enough times that if my brain worked that way, I could quote them word for word. As I wrote a few weeks ago, “Grease” is my all time favorite musical movie. But probably my all time favorite 80s movie is “Can’t Buy Me Love”. In fact, I’ve seen it so many times that even my son made a comment about me watching it over and over again and said he had seen it at least three times with me…and that was before he watched it again with me last night. I remember wanting a car like Cindy’s and being a little disappointed that I couldn’t get one.
 
 Like many movies, especially 80s movies, there was not only there the main point of two unlikely people eventually falling in love, there was also a lesson to be learned from the movie, whether the writers actually intended it or not. “Can’t Buy Me Love” is an example of how high school; High school is full of nerds, jocks, and everything in between. There is the leaders and the followers, the “in” crowd and the “out” crowd. Many times, the “in” crowd picks on the “out” crowd. And sometimes, those on the outside just want to be part of that “in” crowd. But the bottoms line is that everyone just wants to be accepted and fit in. They want to be liked for who they are, but because of some unspoken socially set rules of adolescence, no matter to what group they belong, they feel they need to follow the leader.
 
 In the movies, there is always the happy ending where someone gives a speech and everyone becomes friends in the end. However, in real life, this isn’t usually the case. We all experience rejection at one time or another in our lives. We get rejected by family, jobs, or people we thought were friends. We may not feel worthy or that we fit in someplace. No matter who or how we are rejected in our lives, there is one thing to which we can cling – that we don’t have to be a jock or a nerd or anything in between to be in God’s “in group”. He loves us and accepts us no matter what we’ve done or not done in our lives. We don’t have to buy our way in with works or money. All we have to do is accept Him. God loves each and every one of us. I am so happy that I will always “fit in” to God’s group!
 
 “Accept one another, then, just as Christ accepted you, in order to bring praise to God.” Romans‬ ‭15:7‬ ‭NIV‬
 

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

