How Do You Use Your Words

I read the other day that the average human knows 20,000 words. (I’m not sure how they conducted the study to find that out, but I’m glad I wasn’t part of it.). That’s a lot of words. We live in a time like no other where words are used more than ever – through social media, text, email, etc.

I am not a politically correct person. In fact, I believe that we have allowed political correctness to hurt us. I don’t go out of my way to say something hurtful, but at the same time, I don’t go out of my way not to offend someone. Terms like racism, sexist, hatred, and bigotry get overused. Those things still exist in the world and always will. However, when they are used just because someone disagrees with what you’ve said, it diminishes the true instances of them. I can disagree with someone of a different race not because of the color of his skin, but because we don’t believe the same. It seems daily there is something new for people to be offended about.

I was always taught “sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”. This is an innocent enough statement meant to teach us that we shouldn’t let what someone says hurt us. I was also taught not to say mean things just because I can. I was taught that when someone doesn’t like me, that’s their problem not mine. I know that words, if said enough, can and do hurt. I’ve seen it with people I know and it has happened to me. It has happened to my son. Unfortunately, there will always be people who use words to try and hurt people.

So think about how you use your words. How do you use your 20,000 words?

“And my tongue shall speak of Your righteousness And of Your praise all the day long.” Psalms‬ ‭35:28‬ ‭NKJV

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

