Halloween – I’m not a Fan

 I’ve never been a big fan of Halloween. Yes, I know that puts me in the minority, but it’s the truth. I’m not sure why I don’t like it; I just don’t. Perhaps it’s because we never really trick-or-treated when I was growing up, at least not after we moved back to Oklahoma when I was 6. (I don’t remember much before then). That wasn’t because I had bad parents that didn’t take me. It’s just that when I was young, people were beginning to put things in the candy and trick-or-treating at strangers’ houses was strongly discouraged. We lived in Oklahoma City and then Norman and not in good places to really know your neighbors. Then when we moved to Rush Springs, we didn’t live in a neighborhood. The malls were not really doing trick-or-treating to the stores yet and there weren’t really fall festivals and such at churches. I remember our Girl Scout troop in Rush Springs doing something a year or two and that was fun. But going out and trick-or-treating was not something we did. I’ve also never been a scary movie or haunted house kind of girl; and I can’t stand the Halloween themed tv shows.
 
 I tried not to let my dislike for the holiday rub off on my son. Until he was almost 4, we lived on a busy street in a neighborhood that wasn’t conducive to trick-or-treating, but our church had a party for the kids. So, I would dress him up and take him there. He enjoyed it. Then right before his 4th Halloween, we moved to a neighborhood that was great for trick-or-treating. So we took him while my in-laws handed out candy. One year, my father-in-law took him trick-or-treating while I stayed and handed out candy with my mother-in-law since my husband had to work. My son would come back with more candy than I handed out. But, after a few years of that, my son tired of it and chose to do other things like go to a football game or go hunting with his dad. And frankly, I was ok with that. Now that he is older, he has given up dressing up and trick-or-treating, although, last year, he did go with friends.
 
 I don’t begrudge anyone who loves Halloween. To each his own. However, I don’t give out candy to trick-or-treaters anymore. And so far, no one has egged my house for it.
 
 
 “give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” – 1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5‬:‭18‬ NIV

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

