Nana & Papa’s Kitchen Table

 In my Nana and Papa’s kitchen, there was a large round table. It was big enough for at least 8 people to sit around. It was at this table that so many memories were made.
 
 Growing up, each Thanksgiving or Christmas, we would gather at their house for our family gathering. The adults would sit at the big round table and the grandkids sat at the kids table, usually in the living room. My dad would always choose the chair in the corner, that way he wouldn’t have to refill his own tea glass or plate.
 
 Each Christmas, after all the gifts were opened and the meal was eaten, all of the grandkids would gather around the table with Nana and play a rousing hand of Uno. We never could get Papa or the other adults to play, probably because Nana was sometimes a sore loser and the grandkids liked to egg it on at times. I know she loved every minute of it, otherwise, she would have never played with us.
 
 That old table held so many memories, too many to count. But they are memories that I will always have. To me, that table represents family. I know that now that Nana and Papa are no longer with us, we will no longer gather around that table to play games, eat, or just chat. But I am so grateful that I have those memories to look back on.
 
 So cherish the memories you have sitting around the kitchen table.
 
 But do not forget to do good and to share, for with such sacrifices God is well pleased. Hebrews‬ ‭13‬:‭16‬

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

