What’s Your Favorite


Usually, when people are asked what their favorite Christmas movie is, the classics like “It’s a Wonderful Life” and “Miracle on 34th Street” are mentioned. While I can agree that those rare good movies, they are not my favorites. In fact, I rarely watch them. My all time favorite is “Christmas Vacation”. I must watch it at least once a year, usually more.

My love for this movie can probably be attributed to my dad, who made sure we watched it each year. The movie shows what I desire, a large family gathering, and how so many of those gatherings end up. It represents the extremes in all our families, or at least in mine. The siblings who love each other but won’t admit it. The elderly aunt and uncle who can’t hear well and don’t have a filter. The dad who wants family to be happy and goes overboard on everything. The mom who, like dad, wants people to be happy, but gets stressed when it doesn’t quite work out. Then we come to the cousin Eddie. We all have that cousin Eddie. The person with the big heart, who means well, but just doesn’t have the intelligence or the means to do it.

“Christmas Vacation” may nothing more than a goofy movie. But for me, it represents family. It represents good times. And it represents love. We can all benefit from goofiness, just as we can all benefit from the reminder that our family may not be perfect, but they are our family. They come in all shapes and forms; but togetherness is what matters!

“Now therefore, our God, We thank You And praise Your glorious name.” – I Chronicles‬ ‭29:13‬

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

