What are your motives? 

As I read through some posts by friends and also some non-FB conversations (yes, they still exist) that I’ve had recently plus my devotional last night, I am reminded of something a friend said several years ago. We were trying to get something done at church but we were coming up against church politics and some backbiting. We were talking to one of the associate pastors at the time. My friend, who had not been in church until he was an adult, said something to the effect of “but this is church, it shouldn’t be like this”. The associate pastor and I then explained that yes, you are correct. However, sometimes church is the worst place for it. The church is made up of imperfect people. We all want things our own way. Sometimes, that own way is not what is best for the church or the people of the church. Just like the people of the early church when trying to figure out if Gentiles should be circumcised like the Jews in order to be part of the church, we have to do what is best for the church. We have to let go of control. We have to let God decide and lead us in the right direction for the church. If we let our petty jealousies and controlling tendencies get in the way, then we have lost sight of the big picture. And sometimes, the church staff has to let go of control as well. They can’t do it all. And sometimes, members of the church are being led by God to be more of a leader and spearhead things in the church. We have to live for God, do what God wants us to do in the church, and not allow politics to get in the way. So take a step back and reevaluate yourself and your role. Reevaluate your motives. If you have objections to how or what someone in the church is doing or saying, take a look at why you have objections. Are your objections because God is telling you that’s not how it should be? Or are you objections because of petty jealousies or lack of control of the situation?  
“But none of these things move me; nor do I count my life dear to myself, so that I may finish my race with joy, and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God.”

Acts 20:24 NKJV

Author:

I'm a mom of one, a wife, and most importantly, a child of God. I am an accountant by trade and random blogger by night. I blog about whatever is keeping me up at night hence the name "Random Ramblings...".

Leave a Reply

